The John O Connor Awards 2023

Congratulations to the recipients of the John O’Connor Award for Excellence in Business Studies Teaching for 2023. 

The 2023 recipients are:
Hibernia College: India Fox
UCC: Jade Casey
University of Galway: Caoimhe McHugh
UCD: to follow
DCU: to follow
Trinity College: to follow
Maynooth College: to follow

View photos of the presentations below.

Hibernia College
Pictured: Ciara O’Riordan (BSTAI President) and India Fox (recipient)

Pictured (L-R): Deborah Hennessy (BSTAI Cork), Dr. Brian Murphy (Director of School of Education UCC and Senior Lecturer on the PME Programme), Jade Casey (recipient) and Ciara O, Riordan (BSTAI President)

University of Galway
Pictured: Caoimhe McHugh (recipient) and Seamus Lynch (School of Education)

The John O’Connor Award for Excellence in Business Studies Teaching

John O’Connor was a founding member of the Business Studies Teachers Association of Ireland (BSTAI) in 1976. He served for a time as Chairperson of the Dublin Branch of the BSTAI and was a former National President of the association. He was a leading textbook author over the last 4 decades. John had a lifelong record of sharing best practise with Business Teachers and promoting excellence in all aspects of Business Studies Education. While working as managing director of Folens and later running his own publishing company. Blackwater Press, John continued his connection to teaching as well as travelling all over the country to give workshops to teachers and revision seminars to Business students. Very close to John’s heart was the desire to support teachers new to the profession.

John O’Connor sadly passed away in July 2016 and the BSTAI commemorates his ‎memory with ‘The John O’Connor Award for Excellence in Business Studies Teaching’,  presented each year to the PME student from each university who has obtained the highest mark in their teaching practice of Business Studies.