The John O Connor Awards 2022

Congratulations to the recipients of the John O’Connor Award for Excellence in Business Studies Teaching for 2022. 

The 2022 recipients are:
Trinity College: Conor Byrne
University of Galway: to follow
DCU: to follow
Hibernia College: to follow
Maynooth College: to follow
UCC: to follow
UCD: to follow

View photos of the presentations below.

Trinity College Dublin
Picture 1: Dr. Gavin Murphy (PME Thesis Coordinator), Sandra Moran (BSTAI), Conor Byrne (recipient), Dr. John Walsh (former PME Registrar).

Picture 2: Sandra Moran (BSTAI),  Conor Byrne (recipient, along with his parents), Rachel Keogh (PME Business Studies Strand leader) and Dr. John Walsh (former PME Registrar).

University of Galway

The John O’Connor Award for Excellence in Business Studies Teaching

John O’Connor was a founding member of the Business Studies Teachers Association of Ireland (BSTAI) in 1976. He served for a time as Chairperson of the Dublin Branch of the BSTAI and was a former National President of the association. He was a leading textbook author over the last 4 decades. John had a lifelong record of sharing best practise with Business Teachers and promoting excellence in all aspects of Business Studies Education. While working as managing director of Folens and later running his own publishing company. Blackwater Press, John continued his connection to teaching as well as travelling all over the country to give workshops to teachers and revision seminars to Business students. Very close to John’s heart was the desire to support teachers new to the profession.

John O’Connor sadly passed away in July 2016 and the BSTAI commemorates his ‎memory with ‘The John O’Connor Award for Excellence in Business Studies Teaching’,  presented each year to the PME student from each university who has obtained the highest mark in their teaching practice of Business Studies.